UAH’s DeBruin, Chancelor Named NCBWA All-South Region,

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DALLAS, Texas – Seniors Grant DeBruin and Ty Chancelor have been named to the 2012 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Baseball  Division II All-South Region Team, the association announced. DeBruin earned first-team honors while Chancelor garnered second-team honors.

 Senior shortstop DeBruin out of Boaz, Ala., ranked among the top three in the GSC with a .374 batting average, .610 slugging percentage, 73 hits, 50 RBI, 16 doubles, three triples, eight home runs and 119 total bases. He started every game he had played this season and led the team in every offensive category other than runs scored. DeBruin was named All-GSC First Team for his efforts this season, and earned Daktronics All-South Region First Team honors.

 In his final season at UAH, senior outfielder Chancelor (Decatur, Ala.) batting .337, with eight home runs, seven doubles, one triple, 33 RBI and 40 runs scored. His on-base percentage of .451 ranked fifth in the conference, while his slugging percentage of .536 was the seventh-best in the league. Chancelor was also named All-GSC First Team this year, picked up GSC All-Tournament accolades and earned Daktronics All-South Region Second Team honors.

  Lynn’s Anthony Boza was honored as the Player of the Year, while North Alabama’s Chad Boughner earned Pitcher of the Year recognition.

 The NCBWA, founded in 1962, is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and All-America voting.


2012 NCBWA Division II All-South Region Team


Player of the Year

Anthony Boza, Lynn


Pitcher of the Year

Chad Boughner, North Alabama


Coach of the Year

Mike Kinnison, Delta State


First Team

SP Sean Bierman, Tampa

SP Chad Boughner, North Alabama

SP Colton Mitchell, Delta State

RP Bobby Parker, West Florida

C Jon Carnaham, Delta State

1B Ryan McChesney, Florida Tech

2B Carlos Asuaje, Nova Southeastern

3B Mike Snyder, Florida Southern

SS Grant DeBruin, Alabama-Huntsville

OF Andrew Jones, Tampa

OF Areo Regoli, Nova Southeastern

OF Michael Vinson, Delta State

DH/UT Anthony Boza, Lynn


Second Team

SP Shawn Kale, Lynn

SP Ben O’Shea, Tampa

SP Zach Westcott, Nova Southeastern

RP James Mannara, Florida Tech

C Bryan Hayman, Valdosta State

1B David Weber, Benedict

2B Michael Schmidt, North Alabama

3B Paul Winterbottom, Stillman

SS Josh Carpenter, North Alabama

OF Ty Chancelor, Alabama-Huntsville

OF Zach Gawrych, Tampa

OF Cameron Graves, Valdosta State

DH/UT Christian Glisson, Valdosta State