Three Chargers Named Daktronics All-South Region

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

A total of 30 student-athletes have been named to the 2012 Daktronics Baseball All-South Region First and Second Teams, including three from the University of Alabama in Huntsville, it was announced Thursday. Shortstop Grant DeBruin earned first-team honors while outfielder Ty Chancelor and catcher Justin Riddle were tabbed second-team.

Senior shortstop DeBruin out of Boaz, Ala., ranked among the top three in the GSC with a .374 batting average, .610 slugging percentage, 73 hits, 50 RBI, 16 doubles, three triples, eight home runs and 119 total bases. He started every game he had played this season and led the team in every offensive category other than runs scored. DeBruin was named All-GSC First Team for his efforts this season.

In his final season at UAH, senior outfielder Chancelor (Decatur, Ala.) batting .333, with eight home runs, six doubles, one triple, 33 RBI and 39 runs scored. His on-base percentage of .449 ranked fifth in the conference, while his slugging percentage of .535 was the seventh-best in the league. Chancelor was also named All-GSC First Team this year, and picked up GSC All-Tournament accolades.

Sophomore catcher Riddle from Huntsville, Ala., earned All-GSC First Team honors this season while garnering GSC All-Tournament team accolades as well. Riddle hit .357 on the year, three homers, 13 doubles, one triple, 30 RBI and 40 runs scored.  His batting average ranked fifth in the GSC, while his on-base percentage of .482 and slugging percentage of .513 were the third-best and eighth-best in the league. In addition, he caught 20 runners stealing this season – the second-most in the GSC.

Lynn University’s Anthony Boza was honored as the Player of the Year, while Tampa’s Sean Bierman earned Pitcher of the Year recognition.

In total, 12 different schools have representatives on the south region team. The Sunshine State Conference led the way with eight first-team selections and 16 overall. Gulf South Conference schools recorded five first-team honorees and 12 overall while the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference notched two first-team spots.  Each first-team member is now eligible for Daktronics All-America considerations.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. Voting is done by NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA).


2012 Daktronics All-South Region First Team

Joe Carnahan, Delta State, C

David Weber, Benedict, 1B

Carlos Asuaje, Nova Southeastern, 2B

Grant DeBruin, UAH, SS

Mike Snyder, Florida Southern, 3B

Michael Jordan, Benedict, UT

Anthony Boza, Lynn, DH

Areo Regoli, Nova Southeastern, OF

Zach Gawrych, Tampa, OF

Andrew Jones, Tampa, OF

Sean Bierman, SP

Chad Boughner, North Alabama, SP

Colton Mitchell, Delta State, SP

Ben O’Shea, Tampa, SP

Bobby Parker, West Florida, RP


Player of the Year: Anthony Boza, Lynn, DH

Pitcher of the Year: Sean Bierman, Tampa, SP


2012 Daktronics All-South Region First Team

Justin Riddle, UAH, C

Ryan McChesney, Florida Tech, 1B

Michael Schmidt, North Alabama, 2B

KC Clabough, Florida Tech, SS

Damon Elder, Tampa, 3B,

Cory Jensen, Florida Southern, UT

Christian Glisson, Valdosta State, DH

Ty Chancelor, UAH, OF

Cameron Graves, Valdosta State, OF

Jordan Chovanec, Delta State, OF

Shawn Kale, Lynn, SP

Zachary Westcott, Nova Southeastern, SP

Joey Cudo, Eckerd, SP

Aaron Newcomb, Delta State, SP

James Mannara, Florida Tech, RP


Courtesy UAH Media Relations