Shaquera Wade Headlines List of North Alabama Players Honored at the Mr./Miss Basketball Banquet

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

Montgomery, Ala. (WHNT) It was a clean sweep for Huntsville High senior Shaquera Wade. The Alabama signee was named Miss Basketball and 7A girls player of the year Tuesday in Montgomery. Wade can add those honors to the Alabama Gatorade girls player of the year award she already took home last month. Theodore's Dazon Ingram beat out a host of North Alabama stars for the title of Mr. Basketball. Afterwards, Ingram admitted he thought the award was going to Madison Academy's Josh Langford. Langford did take home 3A player of the year honors and still has another year of high school eligibility left to play.

Here are the players of the year based on classification, as voted on by the Alabama Sportswriters Association.


2015 Players of the Year


7A Dazon Ingram, Theodore

6A Lawson Schaffer, Cullman

5A John Petty, J.O. Johnson

4A Jaylen McCoy, St. James

3A Joshua Langford, Madison Academy

2A Donta’ Hall, Luverne

1A Walter Jones, Sunshine



7A: Shaquera Wade, Huntsville

6A: Cierra Johnson, Blount

5A: Kaitlyn Rodgers, Wenonah

4A: Lauren Cantrell, Deshler

3A: Emma Wallen, Lauderdale County

2A: Lacy Stafford, Geneva County

1A: Amahni Upshaw, Brantley

AISA: Kasey Grant, Lakeside

Trending Stories