Field Announced For 2012 Puerto Rico Tip-Off

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The 2012 Puerto Rico Tip-Off officially announced its eight-team field Wednesday. The event takes place in historic San Juan, Puerto Rico, Nov. 15-18.

Joining Tennessee in the field are Akron, UMass, NC State, Oklahoma State, Penn State, Providence and UNC Asheville.

Games are held on Thursday, Nov. 15, Friday, Nov. 16 and Sunday, Nov. 18. There are no tournament games on Saturday, Nov. 17.

Information on fan travel packages – including hotel accommodations, game day transportation, an all-session pass to the games and access to an exclusive banquet reception with the players and coaches (limited availability) – will be forthcoming.

Considering UT’s recent team trip to Hawaii for the 2011 Maui Invitational, as well a summer tour of Italy (Aug. 5-15), when the Puerto Rico Tip-Off concludes, Tennessee will have visited all three destinations in a 371-day span.

Tennessee is one of four teams in the field that finished the 2011-12 season with a top-100 RPI, and all eight team finished last season in the top 160. NC State and UNC Asheville each made the NCAA Tournament last year, while the Vols, Akron and UMass earned NIT bids.

Alabama defeated Purdue to claim last year’s Puerto Rico Tip-Off championship.

The Big Orange have made two previous tournament appearances in Puerto Rico. Tennessee went 1-2 at the 1991 San Juan Shootout, defeating American-Puerto Rico before falling to TCU and Miami (Fla.). In 1999, the Vols posted a 2-1 record at the Puerto Rico Holiday Classic in Bayamon, beating American-Puerto Rico and Southern Illinois prior to a title game loss to Tulsa.

The Puerto Rico Tip-Off is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television, Inc. (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

Courtesy UT Media Relations

Trending Stories