Brock Claims Third POY Award, Busby Second Team NCBWA

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Huntsville, Ala. – Claiming his unprecedented third player of the year award of the year, Chandler Brock of the University of Alabama in Huntsville baseball team was most recently named NCBWA South Region Player of the Year.

The sophomore has had a season unlike any other player in UAH history, having collected three of the most prestigious individual awards in both the region and the conference. Brock has earned GSC Player of the Year, Daktronics South Region Player of the Year and now, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association has named him South Region Player of the Year as well.

Brock has become a household name in the region and with the continued recognition, the country. Having dominated the individual accolades and landing on three First Team ballots, Brock owns a spot on the NCBWA First Team All-Region, Daktronics First Team All-Region and All-GSC First Team, a feat never before done in Charger baseball history.

The native of Athens, Ala., led the region in hitting with a .432 average and also ranked in the top five in several categories, including on base percentage, slugging percentage, runs scored, stolen bases, hits and fielding percentage.

“At this point, you have to wonder if Chandler has had the best season in UAH history, ever,” said Royer. “Three player of the year awards is unlike anything I’ve ever seen before at this level.”

Brock will still wear the Charger blue for the next two years, and can do no better than match his unparalleled success this season. Surprisingly enough, he is also up for other awards still to be announced, such as the Rawlings/ABCA Golden Glove Award and GSC All-Academic Team.

Senior Andrew Busby netted NCBWA Second Team All-Region honors after bolstering one of the strongest pitching staffs in the south region. Busby finished with a 1.92 ERA and ranked in the top 10 of the region in strikeouts and earned run average, serving as ace of the UAH rotation.

Busby has also earned Daktronics Second Team All-Region and All-GSC First Team honors.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and All-America voting.

2013 NCBWA Division II All-South Region Team

Player of the Year
Chandler Brock, Alabama Huntsville

Pitcher of the Year
Jake Stephens, West Florida

Coach of the Year
Mike Kinnison, Delta State

First Team
SP Josh Branstetter, Delta State
SP Michael Manley, Delta State
SP Jamie Sexton, West Georgia
SP Jake Stephens, West Florida
RP Mike Adams, Tampa
C Bryant Hayman, Valdosta State
1B Jason Matusick, Lynn
2B Adrian English, Barry
3B Tyler Aldridge, Delta State
SS Lydell Moseby, Benedict
SS Jacob Tillotson, Tampa
OF Chandler Brock, Alabama Huntsville
OF Michael Danner, Tampa
OF Taed Moses, Saint Leo
DH Ben Kingsley, Delta State

Second Team
SP Matt Abramson, Tampa
SP Andrew Busby, Alabama Huntsville
SP Nic Kovacs, Palm Beach Atlantic
SP Jed Vandernaald, Lynn
RP James Mannara, Florida Tech
C Austin Allen, Florida Tech
1B David Weber, Benedict
2B Kaleb Barlow, West Florida
2B Tyler Ding, Tampa
3B Cash Oliver, Tuskegee
SS Carlos Asuaje, Nova Southeastern
OF Jocquese Brunson, Benedict
OF Drew Prichard, West Florida
OF Jake Ward, North Alabama
DH Dylan Boston, North Alabama

Honorable Mention
SP Jason Boyer, Florida Tech
SP Pete Whittingslow, Valdosta State
RP Benjamin Weil, Valdosta State
1B Michael Revell, Saint Leo
OF Jordan Chovanec, Delta State
OF Connor Obrochta, Tampa

Courtesy UAH Media Relations