Bama’s Ken Stabler, Auburn’s Kevin Greene elected to NFL Hall of Fame

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SAN FRANCISCO (WHNT) – The Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2016 has been set, and it includes an alumnus from each Auburn and Alabama.

The class includes:

  • Brett Favre, QB
  • Marvin Harrison, WR
  • Kevin Greene, LB
  • Orlando Pace, OT
  • Tony Dungy, Coach
  • Dick Stanfel, OG
  • Ken Stabler, QB
  • Edward DeBartolo Jr., Owner

To get in, finalists have to get 80% of the votes cast by the board of selectors.

Kevin Greene played for Auburn as a walk-on. In 1984, he won the Zeke Smith Award for Defensive Player of the Year. His senior year, he had eleven sacks for the Tigers.

Ken Stabler was recruited to Alabama by Bear Bryant. He solidified his name in Bama lore by scrambling for a 53-yard, game-winning touchdown against Auburn in the Iron Bowl. The play is known as “The Run in the Mud.”

Trending Stories