Auburn Basketball To Play In Loaded 2012 Charleston Classic

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Auburn, Ala. – Auburn basketball will play in the loaded eight-team 2012 Charleston (S.C.) Classic Nov. 15, 16 and 18 at the TD Arena along with three NCAA Tournament teams in Baylor, Colorado and Murray State as well as St. John’s, Boston College, Dayton and College of Charleston, it was announced on Thursday. The games will be televised by ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN3.

The Tigers will play Murray State in the first round on Nov. 15 at 7 pm Central on ESPN3 and will face either St. John’s or College of Charleston in the second round.  First round games on the other half of the bracket include Baylor vs. Boston College and Dayton vs. Colorado.

“It is exciting to be playing in another great tournament as we continue to grow our basketball program,” said Auburn head coach Tony Barbee. “This is an extremely talented field and will be just another great addition to our non-conference schedule this season.”

Murray State, which returns senior All-American Isaiah Canaan, who averaged 19.0 points and shot 45.6 percent from 3-point range, is coming off the greatest season in its 87-year history, going 31-2 and ranked as high as No. 7 nationally. The Racers earned a No. 6 seed in the NCAA Tournament West Region, beating Colorado State in the second round before falling to Marquette. Murray State has won three-straight Ohio Valley Conference regular season championships.

Baylor, which is ranked No. 11 nationally in’s early preseason poll, reached the 2012 NCAA Tournament Elite Eight, while Colorado advanced to the third round of the NCAA Tournament. Dayton earned a berth in the NIT.

In the Charleston Classic Finale on Nov. 21, Auburn will play at Boston College in Chesnut Hill, Mass., while Baylor will play College of Charleston on Nov. 24. Boston College will make a return trip to Auburn during the 2013-14 season.

One other non-conference game has been announced for Auburn as the Tigers will play host to DePaul in the 2012 SEC/Big East Challenge on Nov. 30 at Auburn Arena, the first time this event has been played in Auburn.

Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the Charleston Classic website at

Previous winners of the Charleston Classic include Northwestern in 2011, Georgetown in 2010, Miami (Fla.) in 2009 and Clemson in 2008.

Courtesy AU Media Relations

Trending Stories