Decatur Mayor & Council Members Sworn In


Longtime friend and retired Morgan County Circuit Court Judge David Breland congratulates Decatur Mayor Don Kyle after administering to him the oath of office during ceremonies Monday night at Decatur City Hall. (Photo by Al Whitaker, WHNT News 19)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DECATUR, Ala. (WHNT) – Decatur Mayor Don Kyle took the oath of office Monday night, along with all five members of the Decatur City Council. Retired Morgan County Circuit Court Judge, and longtime friend, David Breland administered the oath, with Kyle’s wife holding the family Bible.

Council members accepting the oath included William Jackson for District 1. His oath administered by Bettye Jackson. District 2 Councilman Roger Anders accepted the oath from his wife Cindy Anders. District 3 Councilman Gary Hammon was administered the oath of office by his wife, Diann. District 4 Councilman Charles Kirby asked Municipal Court Judge Billy Cook Jr. to administer his oath of office. And District 5 Councilman Chuck Ard, the only new face on the council following recent elections, was sworn into office by his wife, Dee.

State Senator Arthur Orr served as Master of Ceremonies for the event.

Following the swearing in of the mayor and council members, the council held it’s organizational meeting in which Gary Hammon was elected President of the City Council.