2 North Alabama Counties Added to FEMA Disaster Assistance List

Northeast Alabama
This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (WHNT) – Governor Robert Bentley announced on Thursday Alabama has received approval for federal disaster assistance in response to severe storms and tornadoes that hit Alabama on April 28th and 29th.

Residents in five Alabama counties, including two in north Alabama, will be eligible to apply for individual assistance. Residents in the affected counties of Blount, DeKalb, Etowah, Mobile and Tuscaloosa will be able to apply for that assistance.

“The recovery process is just beginning for many Alabama communities, and this federal aid help will ensure Alabamians have resources available to rebuild their lives from the severe weather outbreak,” Governor Robert Bentley said. “I appreciate FEMA’s quick response in approving the additional counties for disaster assistance. We will continue to work to ensure Alabamians have every resource available to rebuild from the April storms.”

Assistance can include money for temporary housing and home repairs, and for other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration may also be available to homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance.

If you live in an listed county and were affected by the storms, there are several ways to apply for federal assistance:

  • Online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov any time day or night.
  • By phone at 1- 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 1- 800-462-7585. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. local time, seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.
  • Via smartphone or tablet at m.fema.gov.

Trending Stories

Trending Stories