Todd May named deputy director of NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center


Todd May, SLS manager appointed deputy director of Marshall Space Flight Center

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Todd May will be the new deputy director of NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center, he succeeds Terea Vanhoose who is retiring this month.

Director Patrick Scheuermann appointed May as deputy director on Tuesday. May will help manage one of NASA’s largest field installations with nearly 6,000 on-and-near site civil service and contractor employees along with an annual budget of approximately $2.5 billion.

May served as manager of the Space Launch System program since August 2011. The program is managed at Marshall. A statement says May has led the SLS program through a series of milestones, including engine tests and an in-depth critical design review in July.

“I’m confident that Todd will apply the excellent leadership skills he’s demonstrated as SLS manager to the entire spectrum of space exploration, science and technology missions Marshall manages or supports for NASA,” Scheuermann said in a statement. “With more than two decades of NASA experience, Todd is well prepared for this next assignment.”

May earned a bachelor’s degree in materials engineering from Auburn University in Auburn, Alabama, in 1990. In a statement about May’s appointment, NASA touted some of May’s awards including: NASA’s Exceptional Achievement Medal, the Presidential Rank Award of Meritorious Executive, NASA’s Outstanding Leadership Medal and the John W. Hager Award for professionalism in materials engineering. He has been named a Distinguished Engineer by his alma mater, Auburn University. In 2014, he received Aviation Week’s Program Excellence Award, as well as the Rotary National Award for Space Achievement Foundation’s Stellar Award in recognition of the SLS team’s many accomplishments.

Teresa Vanhooser, who has been Marshall’s deputy director since November 2012 and is retiring this month after a 35-year NASA career.

Trending Stories