Jones wins tight race over McNeese, and rest of Madison County Commission will have familiar faces returning


Incumbent Roger Jones, left, and District 1 challenger Tim McNeese

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

HUNTSVILLE — The Madison County Commission will be filled again with familiar faces.

Roger Jones, the long-time farmer and Democratic politician, won a close race against Republican challenger Tim McNeese for the District 1 seat. Jones will begin his fifth term as commissioner.

After a seesaw battle in early returns, Jones began to pad his lead and had 52 percent of the vote — a 1,200-vote cushion — with 72 of 73 precincts reporting.

Bob Harrison, the incumbent in District 6, garnered 92 percent of the vote over independent Angela Whaley, with 94 percent of the precincts reporting. Harrison will be entering his fourth term.

The chairman’s position and the five other seats were unopposed.

Incumbent Dale Strong was re-elected without opposition. However, though Strong had more than 102,000 votes with 99 percent of the precincts in, there were more than 4,300 write-in votes in opposition to him.

Steve Haraway (District 2), Phil Vandiver (District 4) and Phil Riddick (District 5) return to office.

Craig Hill, who defeated incumbent Eddie Sisk in April’s Republican primary, had no Democratic opposition for the District 3 seat this time around.

The Madison County Board of Education had one contested race, with Republican Shere Rucker defeating Democrat Corrie Wikoff in District 5.  Dave Weis, a Republican, ran unopposed for the District 4 seat.

Madison County District Attorney Rob Broussard was re-elected without opposition, as were Circuit Court judges Dennis O’Dell and Alan Mann and District Court judge Patty Demos.

See full election results here.

Trending Stories