Huntsville City Schools Recognizes Twenty National Merit Finalists

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

HUNTSVILLE, Ala.-Huntsville City Schools has learned that all twenty of the district’s National Merit Semifinalists have been selected as 2017 National Merit Finalists. This is the largest single number of Finalists from the district in the past several years.

Nationwide, there are a total of 15,000 finalists selected from over 1.6 million students in more than 22,000 high schools. To become a finalist, each student that is a semifinalist and their high school must provide information that includes the student’s academic record, participation in community and school activities, leadership skills, along with other honors and awards.

The National Merit Finalist students were presented a resolution at the Huntsville Board of Education Meeting on Thursday, February 16.

In Alabama, there were 213 students from 56 schools selected as semifinalists.
Huntsville City Schools was one of only five school districts in the state that had more than ten semifinalists from a single high school.

The Huntsville City Schools students who are National Merit Finalists are:

Huntsville High
Mark Simmons
Jewel Smith
Emma Stowe
New Century Technology High
Cody Holland
Samuel Thompson
Grissom High
Helen D’Agostino
Camryn Edwards
Jonathon Hubbert
Nicholas Jones
Alice Kim
Joelle Kim
Anjali Mahapatra
Michael McMeen
Jenny Shen
Matthew Shustack
Jarod Stuart
Afura Taylor
Shengqing Wang
Joseph Westra
Aaron Zhai

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.