Federal disaster assistance approved for 39 Ala. counties, including Colbert, DeKalb, Franklin, Jackson, Lawrence, & Marshall


Ditto Landing is still flooded. Surrounding roads are closed due to high waters. (Photo: Jeri Remley)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Governor Robert Bentley announced on Thursday that federal disaster aid has been approved to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas impacted by severe weather and flooding that occurred during December 24 through 31, 2015.

“The recovery process is ongoing, and this federal aid help will ensure Alabamians have resources available to rebuild their lives from the December severe weather outbreak,” Governor Robert Bentley said. “I appreciate FEMA’s quick response in approving the disaster assistance. We will continue to work to ensure Alabamians have every resource available to rebuild from the December storms.”

The counties included in this declaration are Autauga, Barbour, Blount, Bullock, Butler, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, DeKalb, Elmore, Escambia, Fayette, Franklin, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Lamar, Lawrence, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Pike, Perry, Russell, St Clair, Walker, and Winston.

The disaster declaration makes local governments in the 39 Alabama counties eligible to apply for assistance. The grant provided by the Federal Emergency Management Agency may assist the impacted counties with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain private non-profit organizations.

Trending Stories

Latest News

More News