Cheerios recalls 1.8 million gluten-free boxes that may contain wheat

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

LODI, Calif. – If you have a box of gluten-free Cheerios in your pantry, you may want to check to see if it has been recalled.

General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios labeled as “gluten-free.” The company said in a press release that a production facility in Lodi, California allowed wheat flour to enter the gluten-free system.

The recall affects the gluten-free varieties of Honey Nut Cheerios and classic Cheerios.

General Mills said it was an isolated incident and it is working to implement a solution to ensure that it does not happen again.

The company is asking customers with wheat allergies who bought the affected product to call the company at 1-800-755-8370.

To determine if your cereal is affected, you can check the “better if used by” codes of the affected boxes listed here.

Trending Stories

Latest News

More News