This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (WHNT) — Gov. Kay Ivey awarded $18.2 million on Thursday to provide improvements in more than 50 Alabama towns, cities, and counties. 12 of those being in the Tennessee Valley.

The Community Development Block Grants enable local governments to provide public water service to households, repair damaged streets and roads, improve sewer systems, drainage and more.

The CDGB program is awarded annually in several categories: small city, large city, county and community enhancement. Additionally, planning grants are awarded to help local governments examine and address needs.

“Community Development Block Grants are a means in which local governments can address some of their more pressing needs,” Governor Ivey said in a statement. “I am pleased to award these grants, and I commend those local officials who recognized those needs and took the time and effort to seek an answer through this grant program.”

Here’s a list of the Tennessee Valley cities, towns and counties that were awarded funds:

  • Athens (Limestone County) – $500,000 for drainage and street improvements and dilapidated-building demolition in the neighborhood around Vine Street.
  • Crossville (DeKalb County) – $40,000 for a planning grant to update mapping of the town’s water system.
  • Douglas (Marshall County)- $350,000 for improvements to the town’s water system and street and drainage improvements along Plunkett Drive, Moon Road and part of Otinger Drive. 
  • Falkville (Morgan County) -$350,000 for drainage improvements in an area bounded by East Pike Road, East Pine Street, Patton Street and Douglas Road. 
  • Gurley (Madison County) – $350,000 to replace or rehabilitate nearly 160 manhole components in the town’s sewer system.
  • Hillsboro (Lawrence County) – $350,000 for drainage improvements along Oakdale Avenue and its spur roads.
  • Littleville (Colbert County) – $350,000 to replace or rehabilitate sewer lines and manholes along U.S. Highway 43.
  • New Hope (Madison County) – $350,000 to repair and replace city sewer lines and some household lines along Spring, Ellett and Whitt streets, West Avenue and a part of College Avenue. 
  • Owens Cross Roads (Madison County) – $350,000 for sewer improvements in the neighborhood along Brockway Road.
  • Powell (DeKalb County) – $148,000 to replace a dilapidated play area with new playground equipment.
  • Russellville (Franklin County) – $300,000 to demolish 11 dilapidated structures and remove debris. 
  • Sylvania (DeKalb County) – $300,000 to repair and resurface Delta, Spear and Horizon streets in the Sylvania Estates neighborhood.

The other funds were spread throughout the state:

  • Altoona (Etowah County) – $293,024 to replace a city water line that because of frequent breakages is responsible for most of the major disruptions in city water service.
  • Altoona (Etowah County) – $25,000 for a planning grant to outline the city’s goals and future needs. 
  • Attalla (Etowah County)- $500,000 to replace or rehabilitate several sections of the town’s sewer lines.
  • Blount County – $300,000 for street and drainage improvements along Philadelphia, Lehigh and Reid Schoolhouse roads southwest of Locust Fork. 
  • Brilliant (Marion County) – $349,900 to upgrade sewer lines and pump stations to improve service.
  • Cullman (Cullman County)- $500,000 for street and drainage improvements in the Warnke Road neighborhoods.
  • Cullman County – $400,000 to resurface and provide drainage improvements along Cullman County Road 18 near the Bremen community. 
  • Jasper (Walker County) – $500,000 for water, sewer and street improvements along multiple streets in the 19th Street neighborhood.
  • Parrish (Walker County) – $300,000 for street and drainage improvements involving Atkins-Edison Street and New Baltimore and Shady Grove roads.
  • Walker County – $260,000 for handicap access improvements for the Walker County Courthouse in Jasper.
  • Fruithurst (Cleburne County) – $217,006 to resurface all or part of School Street, Third Street West and Northeast Avenue.
  • Fruithurst (Cleburne County) – $12,000 for a planning grant.
  • Heflin (Cleburne County) – $500,000 to rehabilitate the town’s main sewer line which is responsible for transporting sewage to the city’s wastewater plant.  
  • Wedowee (Randolph County) – $350,000 to replace sewer lines to better control sewage inflow.
  • Alexander City (Tallapoosa County) – $500,000 to replace antiquated water lines to improve flow and pressure and add fire hydrants. 
  • Bullock County – $400,000 to resurface multiple streets in the Ponderosa community.
  • Camden (Wilcox County) – $350,000 to upgrade sewer lines in the Westgate community.
  • Choctaw County – $400,000 to rehabilitate and resurface 5.1 miles of Bailey Road southwest of Butler.
  • Dadeville (Tallapoosa County) – $500,000 for dismantling and clearing 18 dilapidated buildings.
  • Eclectic (Elmore County) – $300,000 to construct a new playground, adult fitness area and amenities at the site of Panther Palace Playground. 
  • Epes (Sumter County) – $343,773 for sewer improvements along Clark Miller Lane and Martin Luther King Drive (U.S. Highway 11).
  • Faunsdale (Marengo County) – $300,000 to rehabilitate sidewalks including handicap accessibility modifications and add lighting in the town’s commercial district.
  • Goodwater (Coosa County)- $300,000 to raze and remove debris of four dilapidated commercial buildings.
  • LaFayette (Chambers County) – $450,000 for upgrades at the town’s water treatment plant.
  • Lowndes County – $400,000 to resurface seven county roads.
  • Macon County -$396,040 to resurface at least parts of 19 county roads.
  • Perry County – $400,000 to extend public water availability in the Medline community.
  • Wilcox County – $400,000 to improve drainage along four streets in the Meadowbrook Subdivision area.
  • Andalusia (Covington County) – $500,000 to replace water lines along North Cotton Street and Eighth Avenue and resurface those streets. 
  • Chatom (Washington County) -$350,000 to upgrade its wastewater treatment facility to ensure reliable service for residents.
  • Enterprise (Coffee County) – $272,900 to demolish and clear 45 dilapidated buildings throughout the city. 
  • Evergreen (Conecuh County) – $500,000 to improve the town’s sewer system, including replacing an outdated lift station and inadequate sewer line.
  • Flomaton (Escambia County) – $350,000 to renovate and upgrade the town’s wastewater facility.
  • Georgiana (Butler County) – $350,000 to upgrade two wells to ensure safe and reliable water service for residents.
  • Goshen (Pike County) – $100,000 to resurface John Anderson Drive.
  • Lockhart (Covington County)- $300,000 to resurface Rappahannock, Chippeway and Mohegan streets.
  • McKenzie (Butler County) – $350,000 for water and street improvements along Davison Street and Wise and South Garland roads.
  • Midland City (Dale County) – $350,000 to rehabilitate a minimum of 17 houses to provide safe and decent housing for low and moderate-income families. 
  • Newville (Henry County) – $350,000 to replace water lines along parts of South Broad and Baker streets.
  • Samson (Geneva County)- $300,000 to renovate a senior citizen center, including a new metal roof, handicap accessibility improvements and upgrading flooring and foundation. 
  • Thomasville (Clarke County) – $450,000 for the resurfacing and patching and providing drainage and sewer improvements on Center Street, Springdale Drive, Love Street, North Street, Cowen Street, Duncan Drive and Lee Circle.

The Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs administered the grants from funds made available by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.