Students from north Alabama win National Merit Scholarships

Alabama News

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. (WHNT) – The National Merit Scholarship winners have been announced and some of those outstanding students are right here in north Alabama.

The 2,500 Merit Scholar Winners were chosen from a pool of more than 15,000 finalists.

Each winner was chosen to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential success in rigorous college studies.

Each student was was awarded $2,500.

Those students in north Alabama include students from Athens, Decatur, Huntsville, Madison, Owens Cross Roads, and New Market.

Merit Scholars –

  • Arthur K. Carmack from Huntsville
  • Ella Burch from Owens Cross Roads
  • Emily E. Cowart from Huntsville
  • Ethan Wan from Madison
  • Evan P. Krohn from Madison
  • Calvin L. Engstrom from Madison
  • Charles N. Pride from Decatur
  • Chase R. Guida from Owens Cross Roads
  • David C. Ferguson from New Market
  • Lawrence Zhang from Madison
  • Luke D. Farris from Athens
  • Matthew A. Freestone from Madison
  • Patrick D. Gamble from Huntsville

Read the full list by clicking here.

Trending Stories