State of Emergency issued due to flooding

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

This is the Flint River water going under the bridge on Riverton Road just as we approach Winchester Road.

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Gov. Kay Ivey has issued a State of Emergency for several counties across North Alabama due to flooding.

Counties in the State of Emergency include: Blount, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Jackson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Walker, and Winston.

Counties in the affected have either already been affected by severe weather or will be later Saturday night.

Ivey said in part: “Parts of North Alabama have seen days of rain and the ground can no longer absorb it. Those rains combined with the ongoing severe weather today have caused a need for this State of Emergency. We stand ready and are sending resources to help those who are in need tonight.”

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.