The Havoc beats Peoria 4-2 to win first SPHL Championship since 2010

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

PEORIA, Ill. - The Huntsville Havoc are SPHL Champions!  In a winner take all game three, the Havoc beat the Peoria Rivermen, in Peoria, to win the team's first President's Cup since 2010.

After Huntsville missed out on a chance to clinch the cup on Friday at home, the SPHL Finals moved back to Peoria, but the team was ready to play.  For the first time in the series the Havoc scored first, Scott Trask finding the back of the net just three minutes into the game, for a lead Huntsville would never give up.  Trask scored again in the second period to put his team on top 2-0. Peoria didn't get one past Huntsville goalie Keegan Asmundson until late in the second period, but the Havoc had an answer.  Stephen Hrehoriak scores unassisted with just 30 seconds left in the period, to give Huntsville a 3-1 lead at the 2nd intermission.

The Rivermen found the back of the net one more time in the third, but that's it.  Huntsville beat Peoria 4-2 to win the President's Cup!  Its first under head coach Glenn Detulleo.  The Havoc finishes the regular season with a 30-16-10 record. In the playoffs they were 6-3.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.