Iron Bowl political streak is over

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. - The Iron Bowl political streak is over. Every election year since 1988, Auburn has won when a republican has won the White House. The Tide beat the Tigers 30 to 12 Saturday evening.

The last time this happened was 1984 when Ronald Reagan won the presidency.

Everyone we spoke with Saturday wasn't aware of the political streak, except for one Alabama grad. Leslie Perez-Meza said she didn't give the theory much thought because it was debunked when Alabama beat LSU.

"Alabama won, and Trump still ended up winning," said Perez-Meza.

The Alabama/LSU game has had a political streak too. In the past seven general election years, if Alabama beat LSU, the democratic nominee won the white house.

Since the Iron Bowl comes after election day, election day results predict who will come out on top.

For the past 28 years, when a republican won the white house, Auburn beat Alabama.

While the football political streak is fun to joke about, one Alabama fan we spoke with said no matter if you wear red or orange, after the fourth quarter we all stand together.
"Democrats, republicans, we're all one people. (If) Alabama wins, (or) Auburn wins, it's all good. I'm a 'Bama fan, but there are Auburn fans. At the end of the game, we're all one people. We're all one country, so, roll tide," said Daniel Walker.
Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.