A Quick History of The Iron Bowl

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The very first game of the fiercest rivalry in all of college football began in Birmingham in 1893. At the time, Birmingham was known for its iron production, hence the college match-up was dubbed the “Iron Bowl”. Auburn won the very first game, which took place in February due to the University’s football schedule. The two teams met again in November of the same year, the traditional date for the Iron Bowl, at Montgomery in which Auburn took its second win against Alabama.

Though the first game was played over 100 years ago, the teams have only played each other 80 times, making the 2016 Iron Bowl the 81st game. During the period from 1907 – 1948, both teams took a hiatus from playing each other. The hiatus came to an end after the Alabama House of Representatives passed a resolution in 1948 that compelled the schools to resume the series.

The last time the two teams played in Birmingham was in 1998. The teams now alternate between their respective stadiums; Tuscaloosa’s Bryant-Denny Stadium on even-numbered years and Auburn’s Jordan-Hare Stadium on odd-numbered years.

Alabama holds the lead for total Iron Bowl wins over Auburn at 44-35-1. The only tie game recorded was in 1907 at Birmingham. The longest Iron Bowl win streak is 9 for Alabama under Coach Paul “Bear” Bryant, while the longest win streak for Auburn is 6 under Coach Tommy Tuberville. Alabama are the current defending national champions this year, and they are on pace to make it to the College Football Playoffs again in 2016.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.