Bad Behavior: The latest on accusations of bad behavior in the Marshall County Jail

Bama falls in New Orleans to Ohio State

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

NEW ORLEANS, La. (WHNT) - Alabama will not win another national championship in football this season.

Ohio State beat Alabama 42-35 Thursday night in the Sugar Bowl.

The Buckeye's struck first, kicking a field goal less than four minutes into the first quarter. The Crimson Tide stormed back though with a 25 yard Derrick Henry run for  a touchdown just two minutes later.

Alabama built 21-6 lead by the halfway mark in the second quarter, but two scores by OSU put the game at 21-20 at the half.

Ohio State got the ball first to start the second half, and just a few minutes into the half Devin Smith scored a touchdown on a 47 yard pass from Cardale Jones. From that point, the Tide never had the lead.

After going down by 14 points late in the fourth quarter, Alabama scored on a Blake Sims pass to Amari Cooper with 1:59 left in the game. A short series by the Buckeyes put the ball back in Tide possession.

With :08 left in the game, Sims took a shot for the endzone, but Tyvis Powell was there to intercept it as time expired.

Sims ended the game with two touchdowns and three interceptions. One of the picks was returned for an Ohio State touchdown.

Alabama finishes the season 12-2 as SEC champions.   Ohio State is now 13-1 and are Big 10 champions.

Ohio State will now play Oregon for the national championship on Monday, January 12.

The Buckeyes open as a touchdown underdog to the Ducks in the title game.

Ryan Cody and Chase Horn will have Sugar Bowl post-game coverage on WHNT NEWS 19 beginning at 4:30AM Friday morning. We will also have Alabama reaction to the loss throughout the day on Friday.