Huntsville Police identify fallen veteran officer

Nine Hammers Make All-PIFL Teams

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The Professional Indoor Football League (PIFL) announces the 2013 All-PIFL 1st and 2nd teams.

Ending the season as the Division Champion with a 9-2 record, it’s no surprise the Alabama Hammers lead the way with nine overall selections led by the only unanimous selection in WR Mico McSwain.  As the top overall vote getter, McSwain led all players in scoring (186), receiving yards (1,164), and touchdown receptions (31) leading the Hammers to their first division crown. The Hammers placed five players on the PIFL 1st team with five including OL Bruce McCaleb and OL Chucky Curry along with top sack artists DL Benji McDowell and LB Jake Trantin who closed out the season tied for the league-lead in sacks with 11.

Richmond and Columbus both place four members on the All-PIFL 1st Team in addition to landing six overall selections.  WR Herb Jones closed out the season leading all receivers in receptions (95) with other 1st Team members from the Raiders are comprised of OL Kynneth Moses, DL Brandon Sutton, and DB RoShawn Marshall.  Moses is one five players (McSwain, Perry, Hannah, and Daniels) earning their second All PIFL 1st Team nomination.

Coinciding with their up-and-down season the Lions feature four members on the PIFL 1st Team all either special teams or defense.  WR/LB Jarmon Fortson landed the inaugural All-Iron man award finishing in the top-ten in tackles (42.5) while snatching three interceptions in addition to grabbing 32 receptions for 444 yards and 7 TD’s.  KR/DB LeRoy Vann became the first player in PIFL history to score a touchdown four different ways in a single-season and is now the first player to earn two All-PIFL spots in one-season getting the nod as both a kick returner and a defensive back.

Led by the PIFL’s top rated passer, the Lehigh Valley Steelhawks landed five players in all with QB Adam Bednarik as the lone 1st Teamer.  Bednarik finished the 2013 season with the best completion percentage (70.4) and passing efficiency (112.8).  WR’s Thomas Gilson, WR Tyrone Collins, DL Larry Ford, and LB Terrence Thomas all earned placement on the PIFL 2nd Team.  Gilson finished two receptions shy of the league-lead (93) while Collins led all receivers in receptions/game (10.7).

The defending champion Albany Panthers received four total nominations with DL Tito Hannah and DB Damian Daniels once again earning high appraisal at their respective positions earning 1st Team honors.  Hannah finished with a team-high ten sacks while Daniels intercepted seven passes ending the regular season just three shy of breaking the Arena/Indoor record.

Knoxville also received a total of four members with K Armando Cuko being the sole representative on the 1st Team, Cuko ended the 2013 season tied for the league-lead in scoring (105).  WR DeAndre Brown earned the 2nd Team nod as the All Iron-Man finishing the season with 22 tackles and one interception while hauling in a team-high twelve touchdowns.

Carrying the torch for the Louisiana Swashbucklers are WR Jordan Rideaux and FB Kendrick Perry.  Rideaux followed up his 2012 rookie campaign earning 1st Team nod in his sophomore season as one of five receivers to finish with over 1,000 yards receiving while Perry once again ended the season as the PIFL’s leading rusher.

The PIFL playoffs begin this Monday July 1st when the Richmond Raiders look to earn a berth in their second consecutive championship game when they host the Lehigh Valley Steelhawks at 7:00 PM ET.  Then the Division Champion Alabama Hammers play host to the defending champion Albany Panthers in their first-ever playoff game.

Courtesy PIFL Media Relations



1st Team

2nd Team


 Mico McSwain – Alabama

Maurice Dupree – Columbus


 Jordan Rideaux – Louisiana

 Thomas Gilson – Lehigh Valley


 Herb Jones – Richmond

 Tyrone Collins – Lehigh Valley


 Kendrick Perry – Louisiana

Mike Jones – Richmond


Bruce McCaleb – Alabama

 Darius Turner – Alabama


 Chuck Curry – Alabama

 Dion Small – Columbus


 Kynneth Moses – Richmond

Aaron Wheeler – Albany


Adam Bednarik – Lehigh Valley

Russell Hill – Alabama



LeRoy Vann – Columbus

Charles McClain – Alabama


Armando Cuko – Knoxville

T.C. Stevens – Richmond


 Jarmon Fortson – Columbus

DeAndre Brown – Knoxville



Benji McDowell – Alabama

Darian Barnes – Alabama


Tito Hannah – Albany

 Larry Ford – Lehigh Valley


 Brandon Sutton – Richmond

 Justin Wells – Knoxville


Jake Trantin – Alabama

Terrence Thomas – Lehigh Valley


 Justen Rivers – Columbus

 Corey Rue – Albany


 Anthony Shutt – Columbus

Damian Huren – Louisiana


 RoShawn Marshall – Richmond

 LeRoy Vann – Columbus


 Damian Daniels – Albany

 Gini Ibe – Knoxville

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.