Husley And Dodson Named To All-SWAC Team

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Normal, Ala. – The All-SWAC team has been announced and the Alabama A&M baseball team has earned two spots on the postseason lists.
Freshman Austin Husley was named to the first-team after batting .314 in 29 contests.  He posted 55 hits, 27 runs, 36 RBIs, 72 total bases, 10 doubles, two triples, a homerun and 12 stolen bases.  The Russellville, Alabama product finished the regular season third in runs batted in in the league.
Sophomore Patrick Dodson was selected to the second team after leading the Bulldogs with a .337 batting average in 47 games played.  The Huntsville, Alabama native is ninth in batting and third in hits (63) in the conference.
“I’m extremely proud of them, they have been a rock for us throughout the season,” said head coach Michael Tompkins.  “They’ve worked hard this year and they deserve these accolades for their accomplishments.”
This is the first time since the 2003 season that Alabama A&M has placed multiple players on the All-SWAC team.  That year Aaron Simms was named to the first-team while Damien Ellison was placed on the second team.
“This is part of the building process we are doing at A&M.  We continue to have and get great players who can compete in and out of the conference,” Tompkins mentioned.  “Resurrecting a program takes time and this is a great start.”   
The awards, along with first and second-team All-SWAC honors, are voted on by league head coaches and sports information directors.
The complete list of the All-SWAC team is listed below:
SP – T.J. Renda (Alabama State)
SP – Jose DeLeon  (Southern)
RP – Andre Rodriguez  (Jackson State)
C  – Jose Cruz (Jackson State)
1B – Dominiq Harris (Prairie View A&M)
2B – Edmund Cheatham (Mississippi Valley State)
SS – Isias Alcantar (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
3B – Austin Husley (Alabama A&M)
OF – Ellis Stephany (Texas Southern)
OF – Darren Farmer (Grambling State)
OF – Tyler Kirksey (Southern)
DH – Malcolm Tate (Jackson State)

SP – Jesse Holiday (Southern)
SP – Marcos Lara (Texas Southern)
RP – Josh Powell (Southern)
C  –  Richard Gonzalez (Alabama State)
1B – Ethan Bright (Jackson State)
2B – Stephen Curtis (Jackson State)
SS – Juan Bueno (Grambling State)
3B – Leo Rojas (Alabama State)
OF – Charles Tillery (Jackson State)
OF – Waldyvan Estrada (Alabama State)
OF – Patrick Dodson (Alabama A&M)
DH – Kevin Williams (Southern)

Player of the Year
Isias Alcantar – Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Pitcher of the Year
T.J. Renda – Alabama State

Hitter of the Year
Darren Farmer – Grambling State

Newcomer of the Year
Charles Tillery – Jackson State

Freshman of the Year
Dillon Cooper – Alabama State

Coach of the Year
Carlos James – Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Courtesy Alabama A&M Media Relations