Burn Ban In Effect For 12 Alabama Counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(WHNT) – If you’re planning to light a fire outside, pay attention to this note.  A burn ban is in effect for 12 Alabama counties, some of which are in the Tennessee Valley.

From May through October, the ban is in effect in Baldwin, DeKalb, Etowah, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Mobile, Montgomery, Morgan, Shelby, Russell and Talladega counties.


The ban, issued by the Alabama Department of Environmental Management, is designed to protect air quality.  It’s against the law to openly burn wood, tree trimmings, brush, and construction debris.

Click here for more information on the burn ban.