Jaime Smith Earns Second All-American Honor Of The Year

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The National Association of Basketball Coaches announced the 2013 NABC Coaches’ Division II All-America teams, and the University of Alabama in Huntsville’s Jaime Smith earned All-American status for the second time this postseason.

Smith – who will play in the Reese’s Division II All-Star Game on Friday night with teammate Zane Campbell at Freedom Hall in Louisville, Ky. – previous earned All-American status from Daktronics.

The Gulf South Conference and Daktronics South Region Player of the Year ended the season second in the conference in scoring with 18.5 points per game while leading the league in free throw percentage, 3-point field goals made, and assists.

Hitting more than 2.5 3-pointers per game, Smith helped the Chargers rank fourth in the country with more than 10 made treys per contest, and he concluded the season ranked in the top 50 in America in scoring, 3-point field goal percentage, free throw percentage and assists.

Smith was particularly strong at the end of the season as he scored in double figures in the team’s final nine games including breaking the 30-point plateau on three occasions with one of those games a 31-point performance against Christian Brothers in the opening round of the NCAA tournament.

The Birmingham, Ala., native ended his UAH career third in scoring in program history with 1,980 points.

Located in Kansas City, MO, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest “Phog” Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas.  Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game.  The NABC currently claims nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men’s basketball coaches.

2013 NABC Coaches’ Division II All-America Team
Kwame Alexander, CSU San Bernardino
Mitchel Anderson, Cal Poly Pomona.
Alex Falk, West Liberty
Craig Foster, Cameron
Tyshawn Good, Belmont-Abbey
Eric Jean-Guillaume, Franklin Pierce
Ali Haidar, Michigan Tech
Alex Hall, Drury
Luis Leao, Mercyhurst
Roy Mabrey, St. Anselm
Cameron McCaffrey, Augustana
Aric Miller, Armstrong
Jaime Smith, UAH
Corbin Thomas, Midwestern State
Clayton Vette, Winona State
Ellis Young III, West Florida

Courtesy UAH Media Relations

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.