Vols’ Dallas Thomas Named To Outland Watch List

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Dallas, Tex. – Vols senior offensive lineman Dallas Thomas has been named to the 2012 Outland Trophy Watch List, an award that goes to the best interior lineman in college football, as selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

Thomas has started the last 25 games of his career at left tackle including all 12 in 2011. Thomas was part of an offensive line that allowed just 18 sacks (1.5 per game) last season, third-fewest in the SEC. He helped the Vols to a pair of 500-yard total offense games as well.

As a sophomore in 2010, Thomas started all 13 games and aided Tauren Poole to an SEC-best six 100-yard rushing games.

Here is the official release from the FWAA

The prestigious 2012 Outland Trophy Watch List was released today with a galaxy of potential line stars who could win the award that goes to the best interior lineman in college football, as selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

Senior Barrett Jones from defending national champion Alabama heads a list of 71 players, which includes only tackles, guards and centers on both sides of the ball. Of the players on the watch list, 18 defensive tackles occupied spots. The rest of the linemen were on offense. Every Division I Bowl Subdivision conference, along with independents BYU and Notre Dame, had at least one player on the list. The 6-5, 302-pound Jones, who has switched from offensive tackle to center, will seek to become only the second player to win back-to-back Outland Trophies. Nebraska center Dave Rimington, in 1981-82, is the only player to pull off the double.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 19. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the 67th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6 on ESPN.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 10, 2013, in Omaha, Neb. 

Courtesy UT Media Relations

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.