Understanding The Mandatory Reporting Law
In Alabama, if you suspect abuse or neglect of a child you have to report it. Ignoring even the slightest inkling that a child was being sexually or physically abused or neglected could land you in jail or with a hefty fine.
Discovery Middle School Band Director John Nash currently faces charges of failure to report, as police say he was aware of an alleged relationship happening between his 24-year-old son, and band volunteer, Bradley Nash and a 15-year-old student.
In Alabama, hospitals, clinics, health care providers, clergy, teachers, and child care givers are all required to report suspicions of abuse or neglect to authorities.
“Caretakers of children have a duty morally, ethically and legally to protect these kids to the best of their ability,” said Lieutenant Terrell Cook with the Madison Police Department.
Those convicted on a charge of failure to report can face up to six months in jail or a $500 fine.
“The investigation is not over. At this time our goal is to assist the Madison school system in protecting kids. Not just at discovery middle, but any school.”