Charger Baseball Selected To NCAA South Regional

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

For the first time in 11 years, the University of Alabama in Huntsville baseball team was selected to participate in the eight-team NCAA South Regional as the No. 6 seed on Sunday night during the NCAA Division II Baseball Tournament selection show at the Shelby Center on the UAH campus.

The regional, scheduled for May 17-21, will be hosted by top-seeded and No. 1-ranked Tampa at the University of Tampa Baseball Field in Tampa, Fla. The Chargers were awarded their fifth-ever berth into the NCAA Division II Baseball Tournament, as the field of 48 was announced on the selection show. UAH carries a record of 6-8 all-time in the tournament.

The Chargers (31-22) will open regional play on Thursday, May 17, at the UT Baseball Field against third-seeded Lynn (34-13). UAH and Lynn will be meeting for the second time this season, after the Fighting Knights swept the Chargers in a four-game series earlier this year. The programs competing in the NCAA South Regional, along with their respective seedings, are listed below:

1. Tampa
2. Delta State
3. Lynn
4. West Florida
5. Nova Southeastern
6. UAH
7. North Alabama
8. Stillman

In just his third season as head baseball coach, Hunter Royer has quickly changed the direction of a UAH program that hadn’t reached the 30-win mark since the 2004 season. After starting the 2012 campaign with a 2-10 mark, the Chargers have gone an impressive 29-12, and recently concluded play in the GSC Tournament where the team reached the championship game.

This year's squad carries an overall record of 31-22 – the most victories in a single season since 2004 when UAH finished with 36 wins. In addition, the Chargers finished in a tie for second in the conference standings with a record of 15-9.

The winner of the NCAA South Regional will play the winner of the NCAA Southeast Regional, which includes S.C. Aiken, Clayton State, Wingate and Lander as its top-four seeds, in the NCAA Division College World Series in Cary, N.C. on May 26-June 2. The World Series will be hosted at the USA Baseball National Training Complex.

Courtesy UAH Media Relations

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.