Louisville QB Lamar Jackson wins 2016 Heisman Trophy

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson won the Heisman Trophy as college football's outstanding player on Saturday night.

Jackson, a sophomore, beat out fellow finalists Deshaun Watson of Clemson, Jabrill Peppers of Michigan and teammates Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook of Oklahoma. The Boynton Beach, Fla., native is Louisville's first Heisman winner, and at 19 is the youngest winner in the award's history.

Jackson won with 2,144 poll points, with Watson (1,524) second after finishing third last year. Mayfield (361) was third, followed by Westbrook (209) and Peppers (208).

To continue reading this article click here.