2016 Heisman Trophy finalists announced

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Pictured in this Friday, Nov. 18, 2011 photo in Chicago is the first 1935 Downtown Athletic Club trophy awarded to University of Chicago's Jay Berwanger. Following the death of John Heisman in 1936, who was the Director of Athletics at the Downtown Athletic Club, the award was renamed the Heisman Memorial Trophy. (AP Photo/Charles Rex Arbogast)

Five of the best players in college football are heading to New York in hopes hoisting the Heisman Trophy.

Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson is still the front-runner to join the elite fraternity while Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson is making the trip to the Big Apple for the second straight year.  Michigan’s multi-faceted defensive back Jabril Peppers is the first defensive player named a finalist since 2012. Oklahoma is represented twice with quarterback Baker Mayfield and wide receiver Dede Westbrook.

For the first time since 2012, an Alabama player did not make the ballot. You have to go back even further, to 2005, to find the last time the SEC wasn’t represented.