Check sample ballots for Alabama’s July 15 Primary Runoff

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

TENNESSEE VALLEY (WHNT) – The polls are now closed for Alabama’s primary runoff.  Turnout was light in most places today.

Many party races were decided in the June 3 primaries, but some are still not finalized. The candidates who win tonight will advance to the November 4 general election.

Scroll to the bottom to see sample ballots.  WHNT News 19 will have election results for you gthroughout the evening - click here.

All statewide Republican ballots will have the Secretary of State's race between John Merrill and Reese McKinney, the State Auditor's race between Jim Zeigler and Dale Peterson, and the race for Public Service Commission Place 2 between Chris "Chip" Beeker and Terry Dunn.

Local races

Chris Seibert and Tim Melson are seeking the Republican nomination for State Senate District 1.  This race covers portions of Lauderdale, Madison and Limestone counties.

In Jackson County, Kathy Thompson and Shadrack McGill are both running for the Republican nomination for Jackson County Revenue Commissioner.

In Lauderdale County, Augie Hendershot and Randal Haddock are seeking the Democratic nomination for Sheriff.

In Lawrence County, there are two Democratic races on the ballot: Mose Jones, Jr. and Jesse Byrd for Commission District 1 and Prentis Davis and Jeff Byars for Commission District 2.

In Limestone County,  James Shannon and Stanley Hill are seeking the Republican nomination for Commission District 1.

In Madison County, Matt Massey and Ronnie Blair are vying as Republicans for Superintendent of Education.

In Marshall County, Michael Johnson and Don Mitchell are seeking the Republican nomination for Revenue Commissioner, and Jessie C. Swords and Tamey Hale are running for Commission District 4.

In Morgan County, Sharon Maxwell and Carolyn Wallace are running as Republicans for Morgan County License Commissioner, and Randy Vest and Thomas Halbrooks are seeing the Republican nomination for Commission District 2.

The winners of these races advance to the November ballot.  In many cases, there are no one running in the opposing party, but there will still be a choice for a write-in candidate.

If you voted Democrat on June 3, you can vote in the Republican runoff.  The Alabama Republican Party doesn't have any restrictions on crossover voting.

Some counties do not have a Democratic Runoff Election. In those counties, no Democratic Party sample ballot is available.

Sample Ballots

Colbert County - Democratic
Colbert County - Republican
Cullman County - Republican
DeKalb County - Republican
Franklin County - Republican
Jackson County - Republican
Lauderdale County - Democratic
Lauderdale County - Republican
Lawrence County - Democratic
Lawrence County - Republican
Limestone County - Republican
Madison County - Republican
Marshall County - Republican
Marshall County - Constitutional Amendment & Special Election
Morgan County - Republican