Five Marshall County volunteer fire departments hoping voters approve districts

MARSHALL COUNTY, Ala. (WHNT)- When voters in Marshall County go to the polls on July 15th to decide some party nominations in the runoff election, some of them will also vote on fire districts.

During the legislative session, a bill was approved that would allow fire districts to be created to help support volunteer departments.   Homeowners and businesses inside those districts would pay five dollars per month to their local fire department.   Five departments met the requirements for the district: Georgia Mountain, Hebron, Swearengin, Waterfront and 4C.

The bill the legislature passed requires one final step, approval of the voters in those districts.   The bill was written so that it had to be voted on with 90 days of passing the house and senate and that made the July 15th runoff the best time to hold the vote.

Volunteer departments in Marshall County have struggled as their funding base, which has come from cigarette tax money, has dwindled.



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 650 other followers