Tennessee Football To Host First Annual Volympic Draft

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Knoxville, Tenn. – On Wednesday, the University of Tennessee football team will host the First Annual VOLympics draft at 10:15 a.m.

The draft will break up Team 117 into 10 squads, each headed by two captains, in a winner-take-all competition to span the spring football season.

Each team will receive, or lose, points based on multiple criteria including performance in the classroom, performance on the field, community service, and through team building events.

The competition will conclude with a ‘Night of Champions’ where the team who accumulated the most points will be crowned champions.

Follow along with the live blog as the football team makes its draft selections.




Team Checkerboard                                                                                         Team PowerT

Tiny Richardson                                                                                             Brian Randolph

A.J. Johnson                                                                                                      Jason Croom

Team The Hill Gang                                                                                     Team Rocky Top

Justin Worley                                                                                                      Marlon Walls

Eric Gordon                                                                                                            Rajion Neal

Team Smokey                                                                                                  Team Neyland

Ja’Wuan James                                                                                                   Corey Miller

Channing Fugate                                                                                         Nathan Peterman

Team Orange & White                                                                                  Team The Rock

Curt Maggitt                                                                                                           Zach Fulton

Marlin Lane                                                                                                    Raiques Crump

Team Vol Navy                                                                                               Team Vol Walk

Brent Brewer                                                                                                       Byron Moore

James Stone                                                                                                   Maurice Couch



  • Defensive Quality Control Assistant Terry Fair will host the draft
  • The order of the draft will be chosen at random and will be in the snake format where the final team to pick will make the first pick of the next round.
  • The teams captains will have 1:30 in the first round to make their selections
  • In the subsequent rounds the teams will have just 45 seconds to choose
  • The draft will go until all members of the team have been chosen

Courtesy UT Media Relations