Lady Vols’ Andraya Carter Undergoes Shoulder Surgery

Tennessee Lady Vols

Knoxville, Tenn. – Tennessee Lady Vol freshman basketball player Andraya (on-DRAY-uh) Carter underwent arthroscopic surgery Thursday morning to repair a labral tear in her right shoulder, according to UT associate director of sports medicine Jenny Moshak.

Doctors Greg Mathien and Russell Betcher performed the procedure to address instability in Carter’s shoulder. The 5-foot-9 guard suffered an injury to that shoulder last year in high school and reinjured it this season at UT.  

Carter’s recovery is expected to take four to six months. Tennessee will apply for a hardship waiver after the season for Carter. She is expected to meet the requirements (playing in less than 30 percent of the team’s scheduled contests in the first half of the season) and would still have four years of eligibility remaining if the waiver is granted.

The rookie from Flowery Branch, Ga., played in all seven of Tennessee’s games thus far in 2012-13, starting the first five. She was averaging 5.3 points, 1.9 assists, 1.6 rebounds, 1.3 steals and 20.6 minutes per contest for the No. 13/12 Lady Vols.

Tennessee will travel to the Lone Star State on Saturday, where it will play at #18/20 Texas on Sunday at 2 p.m. Eastern (1 p.m. CT) and at #3/3 Baylor on Tuesday at 8 p.m. ET (7 p.m. CT). Carter is not expected to make the trip.

Courtesy Lady Vols Media Relations

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 980 other followers