Alabama Football Has Five Named To Walter Camp All-America Team

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Tuscaloosa, Ala. – Alabama landed five players on the Walter Camp All-America Team, including four on the first team, which was announced on Thursday night by the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Senior center Barrett Jones, junior cornerback Dee Milliner, junior linebacker C.J. Mosley and senior guard Chance Warmack all earned first-team honors, while junior tackle D.J. Fluker was named to the second team.

Alabama has had 19 players secure 25 first-team All-America honors over the past five years, bringing its total to 111 first-team All-Americans in its history.

Jones, who hails from Germantown, Tenn., has started 49 games at the Capstone, including 13 this season at center. He has blocked for eight 100-yard rushers in 2012 and 33 in his career. In the 12 regular season games, Jones missed just six assignments on 656 snaps and graded out at 90 percent or better in nine of those games.

Milliner, a native of Millbrook, Ala., is tied for third nationally in passes defended with 18 (16 PBU, 2 INT) and has 51 tackles with four tackles for loss. His 18 pass breakups are also a career best and rank third on Alabama’s single-season list. Throughout his career, Milliner has collected 34 pass breakups, ranking him second in school history and tied for second among active players nationally.

Mosley, from Theodore, Ala., leads the team with 99 total tackles. In addition, he has seven tackles for loss, four sacks, two interceptions, two pass breakups, one recovered fumble and a forced fumble. Mosley ranks ninth in the Southeastern Conference in tackles per game (7.92) and has had at least six tackles in 10 of the Crimson Tide’s 13 games this season.

Warmack has started 39 games at the Capstone over the last three years. In 2012, the Atlanta native was a two-time SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week and, through the 12 games leading up to the SEC Championship, missed only six assignments in 657 snaps. He graded out at 90 percent or better in seven games during the regular season and leads the team with 36 pancake blocks.

Fluker, a native of Foley, Ala., has made 35 starts in his career, including all 13 games this season at right tackle. Through the regular season, he graded out at 98.3 percent, missing just 11 assignments in 653 plays. Fluker is second on the team in pancake blocks with 30 and allowed only four sacks from his position in 266 pass attempts.


Walter Camp All-America Teams

First Team Offense

WR – Marqise Lee, USC

WR – Terrance Williams, Baylor

TE – Zach Ertz, Stanford             

OL – Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M

OL – Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina

OL – Chance Warmack, Alabama

OL – Taylor Lewan, Michigan

C – Barrett Jones, Alabama        

QB – Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

RB – Kenjon Barner, Oregon

RB – Montee Ball, Wisconsin

RB – Ka’Deem Carey, Arizona

PK – Dustin Hopkins, Florida State


First Team Defense

DL – Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

DL – Bjoern Werner, Florida State

DL – Damontre Moore, Texas A&M

DL – Star Lotulelei, Utah

LB – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

LB – Jarvis Jones, Georgia

LB – C.J. Mosley, Alabama

DB – Dee Milliner, Alabama

DB – Phillip Thomas, Fresno State

DB – Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State

DB – Jordan Poyer, Oregon State

P – Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech

KR – Dri Archer, Kent State


Second Team Offense

WR – Stedman Bailey, West Virginia

WR – Tavon Austin, West Virginia

TE – Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame

OL – D.J. Fluker, Alabama

OL – Zack Martin, Notre Dame

OL – Spencer Long, Nebraska

OL – Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

C – Dalton Freeman, Clemson

QB – Collin Klein, Kansas State

RB – Johnathan Franklin, UCLA

RB – Stefphon Jefferson, Nevada

PK – Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State


Second Team Defense

DL – Will Sutton, Arizona State

DL – Sam Montgomery, LSU      

DL – Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame

DL – John Simon, Ohio State      

LB – Arthur Brown, Kansas State

LB – Kevin Minter, LSU

LB – Khaseem Greene, Rutgers

DB – Matt Elam, Florida

DB – Eric Reid, LSU

DB – Jason Verrett, TCU

DB – Bradley Roby, Ohio State

P – Kyle Christy, Florida

KR – Duke Johnson, Miami (Fla.)