Five Bulldogs Named To All-SWAC Team

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Normal, Ala. – 

Five Alabama A&M football players were named to the All-SWAC team announced today by the conference office.
All-time career rushing leader Kaderius Lacey, offensive lineman Jamal-Johnson Webb, and defensive back Vernon Marshall were named to the first-team.  Bobby Goldsby and Preston Nelson were named to the second team.  All five players selected are seniors.
“Congratulations to all the players that were named to the all-conference team,” head coach Anthony Jones stated. “Any time your name is mentioned as one of the elite players in any conference it’s an honor.”
Lacey leaves “The Hill” as the all-time Division I rushing leader at AAMU.  He rushed for 932 yards in 2012.  Webb completed his 12th game at left guard and has been interviewed by 25 NFL teams.  Marshall finished the year with 101 tackles leading A&M and finishing second among all defenders in the Southwestern Athletic Conference.
Bobby Goldsby posted his best numbers as a Bulldog securing 20 receptions for 281 yards and four touchdowns.  Preston Nelson totaled 32 tackles, 5.5 tackles-for-loss, four sacks for 15 yards, an interception, three passes defended, two pass breakups and two QB hurries.
The All-SWAC teams are selected by the head football coaches and SID’s of the conference. The SWAC Coach of the Year is determined by the winner of the SWAC Championship Game and will be presented following Saturday’s game at Birmingham’s Legion Field.  Kickoff is set for 12:02 p.m. between Jackson State and Arkansas-Pine Bluff. 
Courtesy Alabama A&M Media Relations